How To Get A Library Card
Library cards are free and available to any California resident. At the Upland Public Library, photo identification, verification of current address, and your physical presence are required to register for a library card. A parent or legal guardian must take responsibility for a person under 18 years of age. Legal guardians must show court-issued custodial guardian documentation. Examples of acceptable proof of address include: a current California driver's license or DMV identification, utility bill, printed checks, car registration or lease/rental receipt.
Library card registrations are valid for 3 years. Please notify the Library if you have a change of address or name. Please report any lost or stolen card immediately. The replacement card fee is $2.00.
Services and Fees
|Replacement Cost||Retail Price of Item $10.00 Processing Fee|
|Replacement Item Barcodes||$2.50|
|Damaged Library Materials||Up to Replacement Cost of Item|
|Printing||$0.15 Per Page for Black & White, $0.75 Per Page for Color|
Library Rules of Conduct
Upland Library's Patron Rules of Conduct is to ensure a comfortable library for all.
Click the PDF below to view a copy of our Library Rules of Conduct.
Children's Area and Hjorth Children's Reading Room Usage Policy
In order to ensure a comfortable, safe, child-focused children's area, adults unaccompanied by children are discouraged from lounging in The Children's Section.
Click the PDF below to view a copy of our Children's Area and Hjorth Children's Reading Room Usage policy.
Public Internet Use Policy
The library has Windows Laptops to check out for in-library use, as well as 4 desktop computers.
Click the PDF below to view a copy of our Internet Policy.
Confidentiality of Library Patron Records
California State Law protects the contents of library patron records. Under the law detailed below, library employees are prohibited from sharing information about what a patron has checked out with anyone other than the account holder. Also, no one outside of library staff is allowed access to information about what materials you have been reading or viewing from the library's collection without your consent or a court order. For more information, please review the Public Records Act below.
PUBLIC RECORDS ACT (Protection of Library Records)
Government Code Title 1, Division 7, Chapter 3.5
6267. All patron use records of any library which is in whole or in part supported by public funds shall remain confidential and shall not be disclosed by a public agency, or private actor that maintains or stores patron use records on behalf of a public agency, to any person, local agency, or state agency except as follows:
(a) By a person acting within the scope of his or her duties within the administration of the library.
(b) By a person authorized, in writing, by the individual to whom the records pertain, to inspect the records.
(c) By order of the appropriate superior court. As used in this section, the term "patron use records" includes the following:
(1) Any written or electronic record, that is used to identify the patron, including, but not limited to, a patron's name, address, telephone number, or e-mail address, that a library patron provides in order to become eligible to borrow or use books and other materials.
(2) Any written record or electronic transaction that identifies a patron's borrowing information or use of library information resources, including, but not limited to, database search records, borrowing records, class records, and any other personally identifiable uses of library resources information requests, or inquiries. This section shall not apply to statistical reports of patron use nor to records of fines collected by the library.